Calm Place – Mommy of a Miracle

Isabella and I have been on this journey for almost five years. It is a very emotionally exhausting rollercoaster. While on this journey I have longed for certain things from our life pre-ABI. One of those things is my “calm place”. My “calm place” is that one place I can go to where I am able to relax, clear my mind and just be at peace.

My “calm place” is somewhere that I have visited my entire life. Isabella and I went there all the time. When Isabella got sick with encephalitis and the subsequent ABI, those days of going were quickly over.   I missed going there and I missed the comfort that I always felt when there.

After an emotional exhausting week, Isabella and I were finally able to go to my “calm place”. I knew in order for it to work with Isabella’s debilitating anxiety that the place had to be empty. I purposely chose a chilly very early weekday morning to ensure it would be empty.

After almost 5 years my “calm place” still has the same effect on me. While being there for only a very short time it was just long enough. As I breathed in the fresh air and enjoyed the sounds of nature, I felt the most amazing peaceful feeling come over me. This sense of peace that I have longed for was finally upon me. I felt like a huge weight had been lifted from me. I was now recharged and ready to face the world.

“It’s all about finding the calm in the chaos” Donna Karan

kristin and isabelle aug 2015Guest Blogger, Kristin Olliney-Apruzzese, is the mother of 9-year-old Isabella, who suffered sudden acute encephalitis when she was just 4. Kristin’s bi-monthly blog, Mommy of a Miracle, talks about the trials and joys of raising a brain injury survivor.

Legal Statement: The information contained in this blog does not reflect the specific views of BIA-MA. This blog is published for informational purposes only. BIA-MA is not providing medical, legal or other professional advice with its publication

Leave a Reply

