Good Things Come to Those Who Wait

ryannewToday’s blog was written by Ryan Farrell, who suffered a severe traumatic brain injury during a  cheerleading exhibition in 2010. Ryan currently shares her story with teens through BIA-MA’s Gateway Program.

Ever since my injury, many dates have stuck in my head, for better or worse.  Now, May 25, 2013 (this Saturday), is another one I will not be able to remove from my mind.

The 67th Commencement Exercises for the Class of 2013 are being held at Marist College this Saturday. I, however, will not be sauntering proudly across that stage with the individuals with whom I began my collegiate journey back in August 2009.

When I returned to school in August 2011, after one full year “off,” with various therapies, doctor’s appointments, and other procedures taking the place of my classes and sorority meetings, it was an inundation of varying emotions – happy and excited to be back at school, yet nervous, and at times, frustrated that studying, exams, and completing any other assignments in a timely manner was such a challenge.  I am very fortunate to have a wonderful advisor for my major, along with an amazing advisor in special services. The other incredible individuals with whom I have been lucky enough to work since my return are quite exceptional, as well!

So, I will not be receiving my diploma this Saturday, but I will be receiving it May 2014!

If I had to state just one of the many things I have learned in the three years since my injury, it is this: It doesn’t matter WHEN, or how quickly, you complete something. What really matters is how you do what you set out to do!

It has been said, many times before: “Good things come to those who wait.” Well, then I know only the BEST things will be coming to me!

4 thoughts on “Good Things Come to Those Who Wait

  1. Brenda Poirier

    Ryan you are a very strong girl!!! So proud of you and I’m glad you can share your story with my best friend and her family!! Keep up the great work!!! Love you

    Like

    Reply
  2. Gretchen

    Congrats on getting back into the routine of college. It is such a rewarding feelin to finally walk across that stage. I sat out after my tbi and found it equally frustrating and challenging but I kept at it and graduated. Underneath it all, every day, can be a struggle. I know I must continue forward and that’s what I will do.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

